The use of marijuana, regardless of the legality, continues to be a crime in Pennsylvania. Marijuana is typically classified as a Schedule I drug, which means it is not recognized as having any medical benefits. The classification also means that if you are arrested for possession, cultivation, or drug trafficking of marijuana, then there can be serious consequences.
It is estimated that there are more than 400,000 current marijuana users in Pennsylvania alone. The state of Pennsylvania has some of the toughest drug laws in the country. However, if you are a marijuana user and have been arrested for a crime related to marijuana, you need a lawyer to represent you. Marijuana crimes come in many different shapes and sizes, but the types of crimes most often seen in Pennsylvania include possession of pot or paraphernalia.
We will now see common marijuana crimes prevalent in Pennsylvania.
1. Possession of 30g or less marijuana
In Pennsylvania, possession of less than 30g of marijuana is not a criminal offense. Possession or use of the drug is only classified as a summary offense and carries with it a fine of $500. A person under 18 years old may face an additional $50 penalty for possession or use of the drug. In some cases, you will also be punished for up to 30 days in jail.
2. Possession of 30g or more marijuana
Marijuana possession is illegal in Pennsylvania. Possession of 30 grams or more of marijuana is a felony, and the penalty for this crime can vary from a year to 10 years in prison. The fine for a first-time conviction for this crime can be up to $5,000.
3. Distribution of 30g or less marijuana without monetary exchange
Pennsylvania considers 30g or less of marijuana without monetary exchange to be a misdemeanor with a penalty of up to 30 days in prison and a $500 fine. However, they are not prosecuted if they have never been convicted of any other drug-related crime. The most common sentence for this crime is probation.
4. Sale, delivery, or distribution of marijuana
A person convicted of delivering marijuana 1000 pounds or more will be charged with a felony of the third degree and serve between 7-10 years in prison. At the same time, a person who is convicted of distributing marijuana 1000 pounds or less will be charged with a misdemeanor and serve up to 1 year in prison.
5. Possession or sale of marijuana paraphernalia
Most people might not think this is a crime, but Pennsylvania law states that someone who possesses or sells marijuana paraphernalia commits a misdemeanor of the third degree. The maximum penalty for this crime is up to one year imprisonment or $2,500 in fines.